The complex of Ss. Quattro Coronati in Rome is situated on the Caelian Hill between the Basilica of San Giovanni in Laterano and the valley of the Colosseum. Its diverse archaeological background together with the artistic and architectonic quality of its various components and the spirituality that permeates it to this day make it one of the most fascinating monumental sites in the city.
This guide provides a brief account of the entire history of the complex from its obscure Paleochristian origins up until today, and examines its most significant attributes, devoting particular attention to the recent discoveries that have further underlined its importance.
- 1. Introduction
- 2. The patron saints
- 3. History of the complex
- 3.1. The pre-existing structures. 3.2. The first centuries of life of the Christian settlement. (5th - 9th cent.). 3.3. The reconstruction by Leo IV (847-855). 3.4. The Norman fire (1084) and the works of Pascal II. (1099-1118). 3.5. The Benedictine monastery (12th-14th cent.). 3.6. The Cardinal’s palace (12th-14th cent.). 3.7. Decay and abandon (15th-16th cent.). 3.8. The conservatory for orphaned girls and the monastery. of the Augustinian Nuns (1562-21st cent.). 3.9. Present-day restoration works and discoveries.
- 4. The visit
- 4.1. The façade
- 4.2. The first courtyard
- 4.3. The second courtyard
- 4.4. The church
- 4.4.1. The interior. 4.4.2. Traces of mediaeval fresco decoration. 4.4.3. The monuments of the right aisle. 4.4.4. The monuments of the left aisle. 4.4.5. The transept and apse. 4.4.6. The crypt.
- 4.5. The area of the Benedictine monastery
- 4.5.1. The cloister. 4.5.2. The fountain. 4.5.3. The antiquarium. 4.5.4. The chapel of St Barbara. 4.5.5. The baptistry.
- 4.6. The rooms of the Cardinal’s palace
- 4.6.1. The Calendar room. 4.6.2. The chapel of St Sylvester. 4.6.3. The Gothic hall.
- 4.7. The exterior